Australasian Radiation protection society 2023 conference

Sea World Resort Conference Centre | Gold Coast Queensland | 29 October - 2 November 2023

Australasian Radiation protection society 2023 conference

Sea Word Resort Conference Centre
Gold Coast Queensland
29 October - 2 November 2023

Keynote Speakers

Brent Rogers

Brent Rogers began his career in radiation safety in the United States Navy.  Upon completion of training in nuclear propulsion, he was assigned to a submarine in the Pacific, and spent a total of 6 years in the Navy.

Having completed his Navy obligation, Brent worked in the nuclear power industry in the US as a health physics consultant, providing radiation protection services to power plants during both operation and shutdown repair/maintenance during refuelling.

Brent then went to work as a regulator in the radiation safety field in the State of Ohio, as he completed his Masters in Nuclear Engineering with a focus on radiation safety from Ohio State University.  After 5 years in this role, Brent immigrated to Australia in 2001, and worked another 5 years as a regulator in the NSW Environment Protection Authority.

After an 18 month stint as a senior health physicist at ANSTO, Brent shifted from industrial radiation safety to medical radiation safety when he accepted the position of Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) at Prince of Wales Hospital in 2008, and has been in that role ever since.

As part of that RSO role, Brent collaborates with the physicists, technologists, nurses and specialists in the clinical radiation delivering departments.  The aim of this collaboration is to provide the safest environment achievable for the workers in these departments, while delivering the optimal amount of radiation to the patients being treated.

Brent is a Certified Radiation Safety Expert (CRSE) by the Australasian Radiation Protection Accreditation Board and serves on that Board as an examiner.  Brent is also certified as a Medical Laser Safety Officer, with the National Registry of Radiation Protection Technologists (USA), has contributed to three Codes of Practice in the ARPANSA Radiation Protection Series, serves as the Health Physics Expert on the NSW Radiation Advisory Council and is a Past President of the Australasian Radiation Protection Society.